Music and it’s effect on our emotions


Music…not a day goes by that I don’t listen to some form or another. It’s a part of me. But I have learned I need to be aware of what I’m listening to.

I recently saw a post from an article on the potential links between music and depression. In the article it suggested that those who listened to more music were more likely to be depressed than those who didn’t. The study was published in the journal Archives of Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine (Read more: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/11094/1136947-100.stm#ixzz1KBdizwUL ) and concluded that those were were depressed were more likely to seek out passive activities such as listening to music rather than more active ones like reading.  It wasn’t that the music actually was causing the depression, but was more of a symptom of what was going on with the person.

In some research I have been doing on Emotional Intelligence it suggested listening to music (as well as reading books and watching movies) to help identify your feelings. If you weren’t aware of, or didn’t have words for what you were feeling this was a way to be able to identify and relate to some. Maybe this is what people who are depressed are trying to do?

Also, I have thought about the effects of music in my own life. It’s true there have been times in my life where I have turned to the slow, sad ballad to express the emotions I didn’t have my own words for. Music, for me, has a VERY powerful effect on how I am feeling and it’s something I have to be aware of. Not only have I used it to put words to my own emotions, I have seen how it has actually affected the way I was feeling. By listening to a variety of music s I can either choose to focus in on the things that are going wrong in my life or on the areas that are going well and the positive feelings associated. I have to choose to listen to music that encourages me, and creates a grateful response rather than the songs that focus on what is going wrong.

What about you? Can music have that effect on you? Do you find that music affects your mood, or based on your mood it affects what type of music you choose to listen to?

2 thoughts on “Music and it’s effect on our emotions

  1. It’s safe to say that music affects people both positively and negatively. The big picture here is its power, and how much of an effect it has, like you’ve clearly pointed out.

    For me, music is everything. From listening, composing, and performing point of views, I feel a great deal of connection between myself and my environment. The beauty in it is that after a certain level of time and experience with sounds, I can start relating things to one another, and take a deeper understanding of what sounds invoke certain emotions. Lyrically, it can be much more clearly understood to a broader audience, but my personal experience with music has led me to believe that the real music starts when it strikes a chord within ourselves, whatever combination of musical elements it may be. For example, a certain song can have different emotional effects on people, and it may have a completely different significance from one person to another. This versatility in music is what I have discovered to be the most interesting discovery, and worth exploring even further.

    What a wonderful post Christa. It’s great to have a running dialogue of self awareness through music.

Leave a Reply

