Finding Balance in a World of Expectations and Constant Comparison


In our HIGHLY connected and technology based world we’re bombarded everyday (subtly and not so subtly) with ideas about who and what we should be.

With an increase in social media/connection forms (Facebook, Blogs, Pinterest, Twitter, Instagram, etc), I’m seeing a link to my own increase in insecurities and the amount of time I subconsciously spend comparing myself to others online. Even seemingly innocent blog topics can spark an insecurity in me I didn’t know I needed to worry about (i.e. “I wish I could cook more meals like that!” after seeing a simple recipe post).

As I strive to live more fully and simply, I feel comparison (via technology as one example) is hindering how well I’m able to live this out. ¬†Comparison is a thief of joy and I’m determined to not let it steal mine!

Knowing this I’m watching what I allow myself to subconsciously absorb and making a conscious effort to appreciate who I am and the simple beauty in accepting and loving that person.

I would love to hear if anyone has similar struggles or has tips to not letting comparison steal their joy!

Photo from postmodernhostess. Love the saying!

One thought on “Finding Balance in a World of Expectations and Constant Comparison

Leave a Reply

