Christmas Recap and 2013 Goals


First, let me say that we love our families so much and feel very blessed to be loved and support by both sides. How did we get so lucky? We spent Christmas with Ryan’s family and then went down and stayed with mine for a couple of days after (also blessed to have a week and a half off of work during the holiday’s to spend with them!)

Here are some of the kids from the Bacon Clan (aren’t they cute?):

IMG_5833

So, now we’re on to 2013! The world didn’t end and we have much to be thankful for. As we’re reflecting back on our year and thinking about where we want to go in 2013, we realize just how incredibly blessed we are. We might have our moments of being discontent and questioning where we are going, what we’re doing, but living our lives together (and living them to the fullest of how God made us and wants us to live), is truly all we can ask for.

I don’t normally make “new years resolutions” but I think I’m going to make a few goals, or disciplines to focus on for this year. I want to increase my awareness of the blessings that I have, and be daily reminded of the many things I have to be thankful for! It’s hard not to get caught up in the “more is more” mentality of this world and it takes conscious effort (is it only me?) to NOT think that we need more to be “happy” or content.

So my goals will hopefully help my focus on being more content and more grateful! (Also, I plan on practicing some hobbies and strengthening my skills in different areas).

Goals for 2013:

1. No spending on myself for January and February (meaning no clothing or misc purchases. If I need toothpaste I can get that but really trying to focus on the difference between a want and a need…all though I do need black pants for work so if I happen to find them in the next couple months don’t think less of me if I purchase them).

2. Beyond February I will strive to stick to my limited spending budget for each month, again to focus on the things I need and not just the wants. (I don’t spend crazy amounts now but I see myself thinking that I ‘deserve’ this or that, or not thinking before I buy something and I just want to focus more on what’s needed instead).

3. 365 day photo challenge! I will strive to take a photo each day that reminds me of something I’m grateful/thankful for (and will also make me practice photography more so it’s really 2 goals in 1). I will post a weekly recap of my photos and how I was inspired to remember gratefulness. My dear friend Tammy did something similar last year and I loved getting to see what they were up to each week.

4. Be fully in the moment. Be where I’m at. I have a tendency to get caught up in how I’m doing things, or doing it the way it’s planned, that I miss just enjoying the moment. I want to remember to enjoy where I’m at, where we as a family are at, and not get too caught up in what needs to be done.

that’s it…for now.

Happy New Year!! To a happy/healthy/and fully lived 2013!

IMG_5815

3 thoughts on “Christmas Recap and 2013 Goals

  1. Ha! I’m doing a no-spend January, too! I’m excited you’re doing it, too. This will give me motivation to stick to it. We should check in with each other…

  2. Love this… And of course, I especially love the photo-a-day challenge! Can’t wait to see what you guys have been up to each week! I think you’ll love doing it!

Leave a Reply

