Finding Balance: Accepting That I Don’t Have to be “Productive Patty” All The Time…..


I’m a “J” in MBTI Type.

I’m a type “A” personality.

I’m a first born child.

I’m slightly obsessive and OCD.

Call it what you like but I like to plan and be productive. My idea of fun is making a list, including those items that I’ve already done, just so I can check things “COMPLETE” (Bless my husband for putting up with me).

I actually have been working on my need to always be productive but it’s still a work in progress. I can usually get to about 10:30 on Sunday before the ‘Productive Patty’ in me kicks in and I feel the need to start checking things off the list. I feel like I’m wasting my day if there’s not a check list of things that I’m checking off.

Believe me I’m better than I used to be, but I’m still not there yet. I wish I could just relax through Sunday if I want to. Maybe some weekends there just isn’t anything for me to do, or there’s a better night to get those pesky tasks that haunt me done (laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping), so I can just relax all weekend.

There is a balance in here. Between being uber productive and not accomplishing anything. Between having to always get things done and wasting away the weekend.

I think that getting to 10:30 on Sunday before ‘Productive Patty’ kicks in is pretty good (but want to be ok if I never get to her on the weekend too…)

IMG_6149

4 thoughts on “Finding Balance: Accepting That I Don’t Have to be “Productive Patty” All The Time…..

  1. OMG you are so a part of me! I am going into my second year of retirement and STILL have trouble relaxing if all things on my “list” are not checked off! And why do I even need a list anymore??? LOL

Leave a Reply

