Do You Know What’s in the Products You Use? | Beautycounter


033115BC_Stats_Instagram_ColorDiagonal3

Do you know how many products you use on a daily basis? Do a quick count. Don’t forget to count from toothpaste to mascara.

Now, do you know what’s in the products you use? Probably not.

Did you know that the US hasn’t passed a law on personal care product regulation since 1938? And that only about 10% of 10,000 chemicals commonly found in personal care products have safety data? Sadly, this means there’s a lot unknown about the products we’re putting onto our bodies and our families bodies, day in and day out.

Over the past 2 years I’ve become more and more diligent about providing safer food and products for my family. It started before becoming pregnant but my resolution has only grown since becoming a mom and learning more about what we are (unknowingly) putting on and in our bodies. Our family is slowly switching to a cleaner and hopefully more chemical and hormone free lifestyle.

I came across Beautycounter from my good friend and love what they’re doing. Their mission is “to get safe products in the hands of everyone” and they’re dedicated to setting a new health and safety standard because what we put on our skin matters. Our skin is our largest organ, absorbing 60% of what we put on it. Think about it, it’s why the Nicotine Patch works so well. With health issues on the rise, this is why Beautycounter has the most stringent safety screening in the industry, and at the same time are committed to providing products that perform beautifully

They’re also fully committed to changing the laws that allow companies to use harmful ingredients and are passionate about advocating true change because right now anyone can slap a “natural” or “organic” label on a product – but that doesn’t always equal safe, which is the important part. They support other companies that are doing things right and help educate and empower everyone to make better decisions about what we put on (and in) our bodies.

I’m a researcher and one of my strengths is the ability to gather information, but since becoming a mom I don’t have all the extra time (or energy) that I used to research all the products that I use. I have come to rely on certain resources and have to trust what they tell me. I believe I can trust the products that Beautycounter sells and I don’t worry that I’m putting harmful ingredients on mine and my families my skin.

I also find that their products work. Since I’m not a huge product person to begin with, and I’m in a ‘replace what you run out of  X with a safer version of that product” mode. I love though that I don’t have to research a variety of different sites to find out if what I’m ordering from Beautycounter is safe. I just know it is.

So why am I becoming a Beautycounter consultant? Well, because I’ve become passionate about safer products for myself and my family and I love what Beautycounter is doing to help promote safer products for all. I want to help do what I can to spread their message and support what they’re doing for a safer and cleaner world.

There are a lot of choices out there and it’s hard to make the switch 100% right away. It’s about baby steps and allowing yourself some grace and choosing each day to do the best you can with what you have.

If you’re interested in learning more about using safer products or Beautycounter products please talk to me – I’m happy to answer any questions. Watch this quick video, it’s a great visual of what they’re doing

and then check out my website at  http://www.beautycounter.com/christabacon.

I’m excited to be on this journey and hope you will be too!

Leave a Reply

