Life Hacks for a New Mom


IMG_7685

Becoming a mom has been an adjustment to say the least. It has been an exciting, yet bumpy ride, learning how to navigate life with a wee one. Maybe it has been a little more challenging because I’m a planner and tend to be more rigid (read: don’t like surprises or changing my game plan. read: life with a newborn is ever-changing….) , but it has been harder for me to get organized than I thought it would have.

Thankfully we’re finding our groove and here are some things that have been helpful for me as a mom, and especially as a full-time working mom.

Safer Home/Product Solutions: 

As I’ve mentioned we are trying to go non-toxic in our house as much as we can. I have found a couple of companies that we love and that work for us (and they deliver so it’s a win-win in my book for saving this mama time).

Honest Company – We LOVE their diapers and have used them since the very early weeks. They are adorable, work, shipped directly to you, and they’re safer than other options out there. There’s some debate about how safe their products actually are right now so look them up and do you research, but we love the convenience of the diapers!

Beautycounter- My dear friend introduced me to this company that is shaking up the personal care product industry. Their mission is to get safer products into the hands of everyone. They are amazing products that are just about the safest out there AND they’re working hard to change the marketplace so that more people have access to safe products.

Essential Oils – We have been incorporating essential oils into our household routine and I’m hooked. We use them for health concerns, immunity boosts, air fresheners/purifier and cleaning supplies.

If you’re looking to get into essential oils and don’t know where to start shoot me a                message, I’d love to help you get going!

Meals: 

I’m still trying to get the hang of meal planning and finding out the system that works for us, but I know it’s KEY to easy one pot meals that are quick to make. I try to make my shopping list/meal plan before going to Trader Joes or we end up eating the same staple meals each week (sorry honey).

Tips: 

1. Have a stocked pantry of staples to make some of your favorite easy meals. It’s great when you’re short on time, or didn’t make it to the store, to know you can still eat a healthy meal.

2. Create a binder of your family favorites and use this to do your meal planning. I have one organized by meal type and just sort through when I’m looking to plan our weekly meals. I like to add a couple new ones in when I can but on weeks where I know I’ll be busy I just stick to what I know (new meals take more time and energy to make than ones you know how to make!)

3. Keep is simple! This season in your life might not be the time to make elaborate meals. And that’s ok. Make it what works for you and is sustainable over time!

4. Meal Prep! Vital to making healthy meals fast. We try to bulk make a few things each week and help make throwing dinner easier. I make a couple big batches of oatmeal each week, bake sweet potatoes and hard boil eggs. I need to get better about prepping my veggies too!

Delivery of Goods:

Amazon – Always and forever my friend. 🙂 Prime for life.

Google Express – One thing I have LOVED using is Google Express. (An online service by google to limit the errands you have to run). This has been amazing for me so that I don’t have to hit multiple stores up in a weekend. I can get most of our Costco good, and baby food/misc. items delivered to my door. SUCH a huge time saver!

Thrive Market – I’m new to this one and just trying them out. They’re a great online shopping source to bring you healthy food and home/personal products.

Personal/Me time: 

Workouts– Find what works for you but I have been LOVING my Beachbody works. They’re the best at-home workouts that I’ve found (and I’ve tried a lot). They keep me fit in 30 min or less, motivated with fun programs and fitness accountability groups. Message me if you’re interested in hearing more! 🙂 

Kindle – a life saver for reading. Great while nursing to use the kindle app on your phone, and just plan convenient. There are times I miss the feel of an actual book, but most of the times I love the ease at which the kindle lets me get my reading done.

Getting ready the night before – I used to HATE showering at night, but since returning to work after having my son night showers have been my jam. They allow a few extra minutes in the morning to sleep if your baby was up a lot, or to read and ease into your morning (plus it doesn’t wake the baby with an am shower – convinced he would wake up if he heard it!) And I try to plan my outfit so it makes getting dressed easier.

Capsule wardrobe -I’ve paired down my wardrobe to a few essentials that mix and match into a variety of outfits. I keep it to what I feel best in and change it up with the seasons. Such a time saver and it’s helping me define my ‘mommy style’.

Mommy Community – Community and knowing that I’m doing things ‘okay’ have been something so important to me. Just hearing the voice of someone else saying they’ve thought the same things, been through the same things has been invaluable. Find your tribe and be in community.

Blogs that I love fora  mommy community:

  • Thrive Moms
  • Coffee and Crumbs

Anyone have other helpful tools or resources that they’d like to share? I’m always looking for ways to live a full life while still getting all the ‘life’ stuff done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

